Welcome to WiFi-Forum

Go Back   WiFi-Forum - Wi-Fi Discussion Forum > Gadgets Forum > Mobile Phone Forum > Motorola Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2005, 08:50 AM
noSpam Forever
 
Posts: n/a
Default Warning! Malicious Criminal Virus Planter Misusing this NG.

Warning! Malicious Criminal Virus Planter Misusing this NG.

This is NO JOKE; recently I stupidly posted an email address in this forum
asking for help. The email address I used was new and was only used in this
newsgroup, so I KNOW that this is the source. I SOON thereafter got an
email that I received three or four times in my personal inbox, it had at
least two VIRUSES hidden in a so called...

.."you've received a greeting from a family member!"
Supposedly from:
postcards1001 [postcards@postcards1001.com] .it was NOT from them!

The full header revealed the following:
Return-Path: SRS0=hXwL=VZ=rodan.virtbiz.com=anonymous@srs.perfo ra.net
And:
Received: from [204.155.158.11] (helo=rodan.virtbiz.com)
by mx.perfora.net with ESMTP (Nemesis),
id 0MKuxu-1DvRiR3aKk-0003bD for _____________

This email contained several viruses! One of which is--
Backdoor.IRC.Zapchast --which allows outside access and control of your
computer. Several full virus scans exposed several dozen infected files;
this is very difficult to clean up! This stuff can be hidden under a
variety of disguises so watch out. Make your security settings at the
HIGHEST for awhile-- you are all at risk. There was at least one other
malicious email sent by the same criminal(s) --it hid under the guise of:

From: Bank Of America Cust.Dept. [mailto:noreply@bankofamerica.com]
Subject: Security Risk (Update Request )

Its header revealed this:
Return-Path: SRS0=Uh9f=VZ=members-service.de=webmaster@srs.perfora.net
Received: from mout.perfora.net (217.160.230.40)
by mxip11a.cluster1.charter.net with ESMTP; (date Month) 2005 (time)
X-IronPort-AV: i="3.93,307,1115006400";
d="scan'208"; a="1331910316:sNHT19673660"
Received: from [212.78.206.19] (helo=mcore.webc.lyceu.net)
by mx.perfora.net with ESMTP (Nemesis),
id 0MKvAI-1Dvb9l2f5I-0003pa for _______________

The REAL Bank of America has CONFIRMED that this is a fraudulent malicious
email; they are also working on this.

If any other people posting to this Newsgroup are experiencing similar
malicious attacks --I think they should post notice here; so we will all
know what we are dealing with (and maybe the scale). I have been in contact
with various authorities including those at the FEDERAL level; and they are
now monitoring my incoming traffic. Another thing that just started is--
incoming Malware intrusion attemts (hundreds of them) ! It is important
that we stop this sort of terrible thing. I believe that with all the
brilliant minds the modders and other techies have-- a collective solution
can be found; or at least some good security recommendations and guidelines.
Let's fix this and get these criminals off this (and other) Newsgroups.

Be more careful out there!
I'm Pissed Off,
noSpam
noSpam@netscape.com






Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2005, 01:42 PM
Michelle Steiner
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Warning! Malicious Criminal Virus Planter Misusing this NG.

In article <6T7Fe.24192$Iv5.4841@fe02.lga>,
"noSpam Forever" <nospam@netscape.com> wrote:

> Warning! Malicious Criminal Virus Planter Misusing this NG.
>
> This is NO JOKE; recently I stupidly posted an email address in this
> forum asking for help. The email address I used was new and was only
> used in this newsgroup, so I KNOW that this is the source. I SOON
> thereafter got an email that I received three or four times in my
> personal inbox, it had at least two VIRUSES hidden in a so called...


All that means is that either a bot is harvesting the newsgroups for
addresses, or that some random address generator it you.

--
Stop Mad Cowboy Disease: Impeach the son of a Bush.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2005, 06:23 PM
Jer
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Warning! Malicious Criminal Virus Planter Misusing this NG.

Michelle Steiner wrote:
> In article <6T7Fe.24192$Iv5.4841@fe02.lga>,
> "noSpam Forever" <nospam@netscape.com> wrote:
>
>
>>Warning! Malicious Criminal Virus Planter Misusing this NG.
>>
>>This is NO JOKE; recently I stupidly posted an email address in this
>>forum asking for help. The email address I used was new and was only
>>used in this newsgroup, so I KNOW that this is the source. I SOON
>>thereafter got an email that I received three or four times in my
>>personal inbox, it had at least two VIRUSES hidden in a so called...

>
>
> All that means is that either a bot is harvesting the newsgroups for
> addresses, or that some random address generator it you.
>



Bots have been harvesting email addresses from news groups for years -
nothing new going on.

--
jer
email reply - I am not a 'ten'
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:30 PM
CJD
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Warning! Malicious Criminal Virus Planter Misusing this NG.


"Jer" <gdunn@airmail.ten> wrote in message
news:11eb44f66i4nlc5@corp.supernews.com...
Michelle Steiner wrote:
> In article <6T7Fe.24192$Iv5.4841@fe02.lga>,
> "noSpam Forever" <nospam@netscape.com> wrote:
>
>
>>Warning! Malicious Criminal Virus Planter Misusing this NG.
>>
>>This is NO JOKE; recently I stupidly posted an email address in this
>>forum asking for help. The email address I used was new and was only
>>used in this newsgroup, so I KNOW that this is the source. I SOON
>>thereafter got an email that I received three or four times in my
>>personal inbox, it had at least two VIRUSES hidden in a so called...

>
>
> All that means is that either a bot is harvesting the newsgroups for
> addresses, or that some random address generator it you.
>



Bots have been harvesting email addresses from news groups for years -
nothing new going on.

--
jer
email reply - I am not a 'ten'

Must be a newsgroup no0b


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2010, 07:42 PM
jwjoe8976 jwjoe8976 is online now
Elder Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: china
Posts: 739
Default

The glasses industry has been developing really fast. There emerges many kinds of glasses in the market, like cheap prescription eyeglasses, cheap prescription sunglasses online, discount prescription eyeglasses, cheap polarized sunglasses, progressive bifocal reading glasses, bifocal sunglassesthey can enhance your reading at one time, at the same time, they can enhance your charm as well if you get the right eyeglasses and sunglasses. Firmoo.com is such place for you to get the right glasses, and there is a huge diversity of styles, colors, categories for your free selection. You can also get discount and cheap eyeglasses and sunglasses if you are lucky enough. Buying glasses here, you can surely enjoy the warm customer services, and the quality of these glasses is guaranteed. Firmoo.com is the best place to purchase glasses! Philadelphia eyeglasses
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 PM.

vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. All Contents Copyright © Wifi-Forum.com